FFP Basic

The easy solution for your prototyping needs

The Prototyping Board FFP Basic builts the basis for our FPGA building set. The FFP Basic has been developed using powerful Xilinx Virtex II Pro chips. This FPGA types combine a high amount of logic ressources with integrated Power PC cores. This is completed with different interfaces to enable maximum flexibility to the user.

The FFP basic includes two Xilinx FPGA either XC2VP70 or XC2VP100 with up to 848 user defined I/Os. The board interfaces are listed below:

  • 2 VG 96 connectors
  • 1 VG 48 connector
  • 2 Harting connectors 68 pin normally used for SCSSI connection as a LVDS interface
  • 4 extension slots that enables access to your own peripheral boards or you can plug in IAF extension boards family members like AD /DA board or I/Q modulator board or LVDS super safe extension board. For measuring purposes a Agilent logic analysator adapter is available too. For your own functionality we can develop your specific adaptor.
  • 100 Base T Ethernet Phy-Interface
  • 4 Gigabit tranceivers
  • 16 Mbit of SRAM splitted in two banks for faster access
  • USB 2.0 Interface
  • 32 Bit data interface via USB

Other features are a single supply voltage solution. All necessary internal voltages are generated on board. The FPGA program code can be easily downloaded via USB directly to the FPGA or to the integrated flash memory. By configuring the board a programming at boot up is possible, so that you don’t need any external source to run your FPGA code.

Hardware in the loop

The Hardware in the loop package offers an easy way of testing developed FPGA program code in conjunction with flexible software test environments. The package provides all needed components for communication between FFP Basic and PC:

  • Data interface based on the Component Object model (COM) for connection of COM-compatible application software (i.e. Matlab)
  • Connection to FFP Basic via USB software drivers
  • VHDL modules for integration in FPGA design

This package establishes the basis for combining the rapidness of the FPGA-Design with the flexibility of data processing in COM-compatible application software. The system design can be validated and demonstrated in an easy and time efficient way. The interface software offers a flexible and easy to use transparent data interface for transfer rates up to 4 MBit/s from and to the FFP Basic. VHDL modules for integration are delivered, which prepare the user data on the FFP Basic via Fifo interfaces. The data stream is accessible from the specific application software through a function call of the COM-Server and can be processed in several ways.

Thus the FFP Basic is seamlessly integrated in the application software as a hardware function.
h3.
System requirements:

  • FFP Basic Firmware #45 or higher
  • COM-compatible application software (i.e. Matlab)
  • Xilinx development environment ISE

Prototyping with this board is easy and spares your budget. IAF will help you to find an optimal solution for your development tasks.

FFP Basic

The easy solution for your prototyping needs

Das FPGA Prototyping Board FFP Basic ist die Grundlage unseres FPGA Baukastensystems. Das FFP Basic wurde auf Basis der leistungsfähigen Xilinx Virtex II Pro Chips entwickelt. Diese FPGA kombinieren sehr hohe Logikressourcen mit integrierten Power PC Cores. Dies wird ergänzt durch eine Vielzahl von Schnittstellen, um dem Nutzer maximale Flexibilität zu ermöglichen.

Das FFP Basic beinhaltet zwei Xilinx FPGA des Typs XC2VP70 oder XC2VP100 mit bis zu 848 nutzerspezifischen I/Os. Folgende Schnittstellen sind auf dem Board integriert:

  • 2 VG 96 Stecker
  • 1 VG 48 Stecker
  • 2 Harting 68 pol. Stecker im SCSI Standard, als LVDS Schnittstelle genutzt
  • 4 Erweiterungsslots, die den flexiblen Anschluss von eigenen Peripherieplatinen ermöglicht. Der Anschluss von Platinen aus der IAF Erweiterungsboard Familie, wie AD / DA Wandler Board, I/Q Modulator Board oder LVDS Adapter ist ebenso einfach möglich. Für Messzwecke existiert ein einfacher Adapter, um einen Agilent Logic Analysator anschließen zu können. Wir entwickeln ebenfalls gerne Ihre spezifische Erweiterungsplatine
  • 100 Base T Ethernet Phy-Interface
  • 4 Gigabit Transceiver
  • 16 Mbit SRAM in 2 Bänken für schnellen Zugriff
  • USB 2.0 Interface
  • 32 Bit Daten Bus über USB

Weitere Features sind die Versorgung des gesamten Prototypenboards mit nur einer externen Gleichspannung. Alle weiteren benötigten Spannungen werden intern erzeugt. Der FPGA Programmcode kann über USB direkt heruntergeladen werden oder aber im integrierten Flash Memory zwischengespeichert werden. Damit kann das Board so konfiguriert werden, dass ein Betrieb ohne externen Programmierrechner möglich ist.

Hardware in the loop

Das Hardware in the loop Paket ermöglicht den einfachen Test von entwickelten FPGA Programmcodes in Verbindung mit flexiblen Software-Testumgebungen. Das Paket bietet alle erforderlichen Komponenten für die Kommunikation zwischen FFP Basic und PC:

  • Dateninterface auf Basis des Component Objekt Models (COM) für die Anbindung COM-kompatibler Anwendersoftware (z.B. Matlab)
  • Anbindung an das FFP Basic über Softwaretreiber per USB
  • VHDL Module zur Einbindung in das FPGA Design

Mit Hilfe dieses Paketes gelingt es die Schnelligkeit des originalen FPGA Codes mit der flexiblen Datenverarbeitung COM-kompatibler Anwendersoftware zu kombinieren. Damit lässt sich sehr einfach und zeitsparend der eigene Systementwurf validieren und demonstrieren. Die Interface Software bietet eine flexible und einfach zu handhabende transparente Datenschnittstelle mit einer Geschwindigkeit von bis zu 4 MBit/s vom und zum FFP Basic. Zur Integration in den FPGA Code werden VHDL Module mitgeliefert, die über eine Fifo Schnittstelle die Daten im FFP Basic bereit stellen. In der angeschlossenen Anwendersoftware stehen die Daten über einen Funktionsaufruf des COM-Servers bereit und lassen sich danach vielfältig weiter verarbeiten.

Somit fügt sich das FFP Basic nahtlos wie eine Hardwarefunktion in die Entwicklungsumgebung der Anwendersoftware ein.

Systemvoraussetzungen:

  • FFP Basic mit Firmware ab Rev #45
  • COM-kompatible Anwendersoftware (z.B. Matlab)
  • Xilinx Entwicklungsumgebung ISE

Das Entwickeln Ihres Prototypen wird deutlich vereinfacht und erspart vermeidbare Integrationskosten. IAF hilft Ihnen, die für Sie passende Lösung zu finden.