Physical Layer Implementation

Our work focuses primarily on the physical layer. We have implemented the “Layer 1” functions, procedures and algorithms, as defined in the LTE standard. These aspects are key to successfully decoding LTE downlinks and uplinks. Our LTE-S hardware platform forms the basis for this implementation.

Algorithms

Using our extensive knowledge of physics and telecommunications technology, particularly in the field of wireless transmission technology, we have developed complex algorithms that deliver excellent performance. One example: our algorithms for channel estimation and channel correction of the reception signal. This enables us to correct radio channel interference by analysing the radio channel with specific known sequences, and then using these results, to correct the distorted signal at the reception unit.

Simulation

We use simulations at the start of each new development, and continue to use them throughout the process. We generate our simulations within powerful computing environments such as MATLAB, which offers many of the required functions.

Each simulation depicts the necessary architecture at the system level, and gives an overview of the entire system and its individual sub-systems. In addition, we use simulations to generate test sequences and to verify the algorithms and functions that we develop.

By exploiting simulations, we gain a better understanding of each process and can thoroughly document even the most complex of processes.

Test and verification

The complete Layer 1 and Layer 2 decoding of the LTE downlink and uplink is performed in real time. For the hardware platform, we utilize FPGA / DSP (LTE-S platform) and others. We carry out the development, simulation, implementation, testing and verification of LTE signal processing (physical layer, MAC layer) on whatever hardware and within whatever parameters our client requires.

Physical Layer Implementierung

Die physikalische Schicht (Physical Layer) ist unser primärer Arbeitsschwerpunkt – hier haben wir die im LTE Standard definierten Layer 1 Funktionen, Prozeduren und Algorithmen implementiert. Diese sind notwendig für die Dekodierung des LTE Down- und Uplinks. Die Implementierung wurde auf unserer LTE-S Hardware Plattform durchgeführt (FPGA /DSP).

Algorithmen

Dank unseres umfangreichen, physikalischen und nachrichtentechnischen Wissens insbesondere im Bereich der Funkübertragungstechnik ist es uns möglich, komplexe Algorithmen mit sehr guter Performance zu entwickeln und zu optimieren. Ein Beispiel dafür ist die Kanalschätzung und Kanalkorrektur des Empfangssignals. So können wir Einflüsse des Funkkanals korrigieren indem der Funkkanal mit speziellen bekannten Sequenzen vermessen und im Empfänger das verzerrte Empfangssignal dann mit Hilfe dieser Kenntnis korrigiert wird.

Simulation

Simulationen werden zu Beginn der Entwicklung und begleitend dazu eingesetzt. Diese erstellen wir auf Basis von umfassenden Softwaretools wie etwa Matlab, die bereits viele benötigte Funktionen beinhaltet.

Die Simulation bildet die zu implementierende Architektur auf Systemebene ab und gibt eine Übersicht des Gesamtsystems und der einzelnen Unterfunktionen. Auch zur Erzeugung von Testsequenzen und zur Verifikation der entwickelten Algorithmen und Funktionen werden Simulationen genutzt.

Vorteil: Man kann anhand der Simulation den Gesamtprozess besser nachvollziehen und dokumentieren.

Test und Verifikation

Die vollständige Layer 1 und Layer 2 Decodierung des LTE Downlink und Uplink wurde in Echtzeit realisiert. Verwendete Hardware Plattform sind beispielsweise FPGA / DSP (LTE-S Plattform). Die Entwicklung, Simulation, Implementierung, Tests und Verifikationen von LTE Signalverarbeitung (Physical Layer, MAC Layer) führen wir auf beliebiger Hardware und nach Vorgabe unseres Kunden durch.