Millimetre-wave wireless transmission

over-the-air communication with extremely high data rates

There is a growing demand for wireless transmission rates of several gigabits per second – and this presents an enormous technical challenge. There are only two way of meeting this challenge: either increasing spectral efficiency, or by exploiting frequency resources that have not yet been used in mobile communications.

There is current discussion on the use of the 60 GHz band for applications requiring high data rates. Examples of this are as Gigabit WLAN and wireless multimedia access. For example, downloading a DVD onto a 5 GB memory stick with a net data rate of 5 Gigabits per second would only take 8 seconds. Of course, this offers significant market potential, and also opens opportunities for important research.

A number of new developments have sparked great interest in millimetre-wave radio transmission. For example, the FCC (Federal Communications Commission) has 7 GHz of unlicensed spectrum in the 60GHz band. Never before has such a large bandwidth for wireless communication been available and technologically usable. This bandwidth can be exploited to achieve data rates of several gigabits per second.

The main objective is to enable the commercial exploitation of the new mm-wave radio transmission with ultra-high data rates, and thereby promote the development of new products based on it. Important milestones include the construction of a comprehensive demonstrator for high-quality streaming video for plane travel and automobiles, and the design of easy-to-use wireless data connections between laptops and devices such as camcorders and mobile phones.

The QStream project

For this project, we at IAF have collaborated with several European partners to create a 60 GHz radio link that delivers speeds of up to 6 GB/s. To help achieve this, we developed a very fast A/D and D/A converter with a sampling rate of 2GHz. We combined this with our FFP (Fast Flexible Prototyping) Basic+ FPGA motherboard to create the Qstream demonstrator.

In addition, we developed algorithms for the OFDM baseband signal processing. Due to the very high data rates, signal processing had to be implemented in a parallel architecture. The Qstream project was led by the company NXP Semiconductors, whose goal is the development of RF transceiver chips for 60 GHz.

Qstream’s objectives were to design and implement a strategy for the successful realization of low-cost, highly-integrated, ultra-high-data-rate streaming applications in the 60 GHz band, and to build a demonstrator for the practical evaluation of radio transmission. The project was completed successfully.

Millimeter-Wellen-Funkübertragung

Kommunikation mit extrem hoher Datenrate über Funk

Der wachsende Bedarf an drahtlosen Übertragungsraten von mehreren Gigabit pro Sekunde schafft eine große technische Herausforderung. Diese kann nur durch eine Erhöhung der spektralen Effizienz oder durch Frequenz-Ressourcen, die bisher noch nicht in der mobilen Kommunikation verwendet wurden angegangen werden.

Derzeit wird die Nutzung des 60-GHz-Bands für Anwendungen diskutiert, die hohe Datenraten benötigen. Beispiele hierfür sind etwa Gigabit-WLAN und ein Wireless-Multimedia-Zugang. Das Herunterladen einer DVD auf einen 5 Gigabyte-Memory-Stick mit einer Netto-Datenrate von 5 Gigabit pro Sekunde, würde dann zum Beispiel nur 8 Sekunden dauern. Diese Anwendungen bieten ein erhebliches Marktpotenzial, aber auch Chancen für umfangreiche Forschungsarbeiten.

Eine Reihe von neuen Entwicklungen hat großes Interesse an Millimeter-Wellen-Funkübertragung geweckt. Zum Beispiel verfügt die FCC (Federal Communications Commission) über 7 GHz nicht lizenzierter Bandbreite im 60-GHz-Band. Nie zuvor war eine so große Bandbreite für die drahtlose Kommunikation frei und auch technisch nutzbar. Dies ermöglicht Datenraten von mehreren Gigabit pro Sekunde.

Das wichtigste Ziel ist es, die kommerzielle Nutzung der neuen mm-Wellen Funkübertragung mit ultra hohen Datenraten zu ermöglichen und dadurch die Entwicklung neuer darauf basierender Produkte voranzutreiben. Wichtige Meilensteine sind etwa die Konstruktion eines umfassenden Demonstrators für qualitativ hochwertige Videostreamings in ein Flugzeug und im Auto oder das Design einer einfach zu bedienenden drahtlosen Datenverbindung zwischen Endgeräten wie Camcordern oder Mobiltelefonen und Laptops.

Das QStream Projekt

Während dieses Projekts haben wir von IAF mit mehreren europäischen Partnern an der Realisierung einer 60 GHz Funkübertragungsstrecke mit einer Geschwindigkeit von bis zu 6 GB/s gearbeitet. Unser Beitrag war die Entwicklung sehr schneller A/D- und D/A-Umsetzer mit über 2GHz Abtastrate. In Kombination mit dem FPGA Mainboard FFP Basic+ wurde daraus der Qstream Demonstrator aufgebaut.

Darüber hinaus haben wir Algorithmen für die OFDM Basisbandsignalverarbeitung entwickelt. Durch die hohe Datenrate musste die Signalverarbeitung in eine Parallelarchitektur implementiert werden. Federführend war dabei die Firma NXP, deren Zielsetzung die Entwicklung von RF Transceiver Chips für 60 GHz war.

Das Ziel des Qstream Projektes war es, das Design und die Umsetzungsstrategie für die Realisierung von kostengünstigen, stark integrierten Übertragungssystemen, die eine hohe Datenrate ermöglichen, im 60-GHz-Band zu entwickeln sowie einen Demonstrator für die praktische Erprobung der Funkübertragung aufzubauen. – Das Projekt wurde erfolgreich abgeschlossen.