MIMO – The future of mobile communications systems

What exactly is behind the term MIMO?

MIMO stands for Multiple Input Multiple Output. This refers to the use of multiple antennas at both the transmitter and receiver for wireless communications. This is the basis for special coding techniques, which use not only the temporal but also the spatial dimension of information transfer (space-time coding).

This delivers significant improvements in the quality (bit error rate) and data rates of a wireless connection. MIMO systems achieve more bits per second per hertz of bandwidth, and therefore higher spectral efficiency, than conventional SISO or SIMO systems. Thanks to these properties, MIMO systems are increasingly being used in telecommunications.

It is important to clearly distinguish between the transmitter and receiver – from the mobile devices to the base station or in the opposite direction.

Scalable, adaptive MIMO-OFDM wireless transmission system

The aim of the project was the development and implementation of testbeds for the evaluation of future wireless standards based on the OFDM transmission technology. The 3G-LTE standard developed by the 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) establishes MIMO/OFDMA transmission for the downlink. For the uplink, the SC/FDMA scheme is used.

The MIMO/OFDMA method permits optimal utilization of available frequency resources with a high degree of scalability and flexibility.

The OFDMA method offers a flexible allocation of frequency resources for a variety of users. For this, the available spectrum is divided into resource blocks. A resource block contains 12 adjacent subcarriers in the frequency direction for the duration of one sub-frame (1 ms). Ten sub-frames form a radio frame.

Each resource block may be modulated and coded differently, and assigned to different users. The scheduling of resources is based on the channel quality information (CQI) transmitted by the user equipment (UEs) to the base station.

Tested and implemented.

The baseband signal processing was implemented on the in-house prototyping platform FFP Basic +. The programming was done primarily in VHDL. Additional digital signal processors (DSP) were used for floating point operations. Thanks to the use of programmable hardware, it is possible to continuously adapt and extend the testbed and to implement new functions.

The testbed is used for measurements in real radio channels as well as for demonstration purposes. IP-based applications such as mobile streaming of video at high data rates have been achieved.

Specially developed analysis software allows the recording of measurements and real-time monitoring of essential system parameters. The Microsoft Windows-based software reads the data periodically from a built-in USB interface on the testbed.

A client:

„At first it sounds incredible, but it is going to expand capacity for the dramatic rise in mobile Internet traffic on our wireless network.“

Project partners:

Fraunhofer Heinrich Hertz Institute

The Heinrich Hertz Institute in Berlin.

MIMO – Die Zukunft der Mobilfunksysteme

Was genau steckt hinter dem Begriff MIMO?

RF MIMO Transceiver

Mit dem Begriff MIMO kurz für: Multiple Input Multiple Output bezeichnet man die Nutzung mehrerer Sende- und Empfangsantennen zur drahtlosen Kommunikation. Dies ist die Grundlage für spezielle Codierungsverfahren, die nicht nur die zeitliche, sondern auch die räumliche Dimension zur Informationsübertragung nutzen (Space-Time Coding).

Dadurch lassen sich Qualität (Bitfehlerhäufigkeit) und Datenrate einer drahtlosen Verbindung deutlich erhöhen. MIMO-Systeme können wesentlich mehr bit/s pro genutztem Hz Bandbreite übertragen und haben somit eine höhere spektrale Effizienz als konventionelle SISO- oder SIMO-Systeme. Auf Grund dieser Eigenschaften werden MIMO-Systeme besonders gern in der Nachrichtentechnik eingesetzt.

Wichtig ist, dass man dabei zwischen der Übertragungsrichtung also ganz klar zwischen Sender und Empfänger unterscheidet – vom Mobilfunkgerät zur Basisstation oder in umgekehrter Richtung.

Skalierbares, adaptives MIMO-OFDM Funkübertragungssystem

Ziel des Projekts war die Entwicklung und Realisierung von Testbeds für die Evaluierung zukünftiger Mobilfunkstandards basierend auf der OFDM Übertragungstechnik.

Der im Rahmen des 3rd Generation Partnership Projects (3GPP) entwickelte 3GLTE-Standard sieht für den Downlink MIMO/OFDMA Übertragung vor. Im Uplink wird das SC/FDMA Übertragungsverfahren verwendet.

Das MIMO/OFDMA Verfahren ermöglicht eine optimale Ausnutzung der verfügbaren Frequenzressourcen durch ein hohes Maß an Skalierbarkeit und Flexibilität.

Das OFDMA-Verfahren bietet eine flexible Zuteilung der Frequenzressourcen auf viele verschiedene Nutzer. Dazu wird das zur Verfügung stehende Spektrum in sogenannte Ressource Blocks aufgeteilt. Ein Ressource Block beinhaltet 12 benachbarte Subträger in Frequenzrichtung für die Dauer eines Subframes (1 ms). Zehn Subframes bilden einen Radio Frame.

Jeder Ressource Block kann unterschiedlich moduliert und codiert werden und verschiedenen Usern zugeordnet werden. Das Scheduling der Ressourcen erfolgt anhand der von den UEs (User Equipment) übertragenen Kanalinformationen (CQI) in der Basisstation.

Geprüft und umgesetzt.

Die Basisband Signalverarbeitung wurde auf der hauseigenen FPGA Plattform FFP Basic+ implementiert. Die Programmierung erfolgte hauptsächlich in VHDL. Für Floating Point Rechenoperationen wurden zusätzlich Signalprozessoren (DSP) verwendet. Durch den Einsatz von programmierbarer Hardware ist die ständige Anpassung und Erweiterung des Testbeds sowie die Implementierung neuer Funktionen möglich.

Das Testbed wird sowohl für Messungen in realen Funkkanälen verwendet als auch für Demonstrationszwecke. IP-basierte Applikationen wie z.B. Video-Streaming mit hohen Datenraten können so mobil übertragen werden.

Eine speziell entwickelte Analysesoftware ermöglicht die Aufnahme von Messwerten und Realtime-Monitoring der wesentlichen Systemparameter. Die Microsoft Windows basierte Software liest die Messdaten periodisch über ein integriertes USB-Interface aus dem Testbed aus.

Ein Kunde:

„Was zuerst unglaublich klingt, wird höhere Kapazitäten für den drastisch steigenden mobilen Internetverkehr in unseren Mobilfunk-Netzwerken ermöglichen.“

Projektpartner:

Fraunhofer Heinrich-Hertz-Institut

Das Heinrich-Hertz-Institut in Berlin.